POWRi SPEED Week Recap

POWRi SPEED Week Recap

POWRi Lucas Oil Illinois SPEED Week Recap:

Wednesday-Joliet: Michael Pickens won the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League for the opening night of Illinois SPEED Week, at the Dirt Oval at Route 66. The victory was Pickens ninth career in POWRi sanctioned events. Pickens led all twenty-five laps finishing ahead of Rico Abreu, Ryan Robinson, Logan Seavey and Tanner Thorson.

Thursday-Fairbury: Thorson scored an exciting last lap victory, passing teammate Abreu for the lead entering Turn 3. Pickens, Spencer Bayston, Abreu, and Andrew Felker completed the top five.
Friday-Jacksonville: The event drew 39-cars,with Thorson winning his second straight feature leading the final 13-laps. Bayston, Pickens, Abreu, and series points leader ZachDaum collected top five finishes.

Saturday-Macon: Pickens scored a wire-to-wire victory despite multiple cautions. Trailing the New Zealander were: Daum, rookie Zeb Wise, Brad Loyet and Shane Golobic.

Sunday-Lincoln: Logan Seavey (above in Brendan Auman photo), scored his first career midget feature victory. Seavey made contact with leader Pickens entering the final turn on the white flag lap. Pickens ending up flipping and placing 16th to earn the five-race Championship. Finishing behind the Sutter, California driver were: Golobic, Daum, Tyler Thomas, and Tucker Klaasmeyer.

NASCAR Whelen Modified tour star Justin Bonsignore won the NEMA sanctioned 2nd Annual Allan Cantor Memorial at Riverhead Raceway finishing ahead of Jim Chambers, Randy Cabral, Avery Stoehr, and John Zych Jr.
Riley Kreiesel won the POWRi/All Star Midget Series event at Valley Speedway finishing ahead of teammate Luke Howard and Kory Schudy. Zach Taylor drove Todd Henry's No.71 to victory in the Rocky Mountain Midget Series first of four visits to I-76 Speedway on Saturday.