Busy Independence weekend of racing!

After a light weekend of midget racing, competitors are ready for eleven events scheduled between June 30-July 3, sanctioned by six different series.

Multiple events for USAC, ARDC, POWRi West & RMMRA

The USAC Midget National Championship visits three different Illinois tracks in three consecutive nights for the first time in 49 years! Saturday's USAC returns to Macon Speedway for the first time since 2007. Sunday USAC visits the Lincoln Speedway for the first time since Bob Tattersall's 1964 victory at the facility.
Monday's July 3 Adam Lopez "Illinois Midget Nationals" presents the return for USAC midgets to the Illinois State Fairgrounds, at the new Illinois State Fairgrounds Multi-Purpose Arena. The outdoor dirt oval has previously hosted events such as motorcycle racing and the National High School Rodeo Finals.

Ryan Greth enters this Friday's ARDC/USAC Eastern race at Linda's Speedway in Jonestown, Pa. holding a 14-point lead over Alex Bright. Linda's hosts three events this year, the rest being August 17 and September 29. Lanco's Clyde Martin Memorial Speedway in Newmanstown, Pa. hosts Saturday night's race.

The Lucas Oil POWRi West Midget League presented by HE & M Saw heads to Texas for a doubleheader. On Friday, June 30, the series visits RPM Speedway. On Saturday, teams travel to Greenville for an event at Super Bowl Speedway. Grady Chandler will take a 180-point lead into the Texas weekend over second-place Steven Shebester.
Friday the RMMRA kicks off a double header weekend at Phillips County Raceway and the following night I-76 Speedway in Ft. Morgan, CO. Keith Rauch leads the series points inquest of a sixth consecutive championship despite being shutout of victory lane this season.

Round eight for the POWRi Lucas Oil Allstar Midget League is also slated for Saturday at Valley Speedway. Wesley Smith is the only repeat winner in the series this season with three wins. Maria Cofer leads the BCRA points heading into the series only appearance of the season at the popular Placerville Speedway.

The 26th Annual Knepper Memorial, scheduled for Friday night at Belle-Clair Speedway, was cancelled due to weather. The event will now be held on Saturday, July 22.


Hollingsworth, Seidelman, Zych capture victories

Shane Hollingsworth (above Bill Miller photo) is joined by his family, after winning the Montpelier Speedway Midget Series feature on Saturday. Logan Arnold, Aaron Leffel, Scott Orr, and Nick Hamilton completed the top five.
The Washington Midget Racing Association (WMRA) opened their 54th season Saturday at Idaho's Stateline Speedway. Defending series champion Tony Seidelman captured the event finishing ahead of Shawn Breitzman, and Kenny Wood.

Defending NEMA Champion John Zych Jr. won Wednesday's "21st annual Boston Louie Memorial" at Seekonk Speedway. Trailing Zych were: points leader Avery Stoehr, Doug Coby, Anthony Nocella, and Randy Cabral.

Lyle Corrigan: who guided Kevin Olson to his first of five Badger championships, died at the age of 86 in Loves Park, IL, on June 27. Olson, and Corrigan teamed up to win the 1976 Badger driver, and car owner titles. The Corrigan Manufacturing Spl. was a fixture at midget races throughout the country for the next twenty-five plus seasons.

Joe Corrigan captured the six Angell Park Speedway feature victories for the father-son team. Lyle and Joe also set fast time two consective years 1984-85 for the Turkey Night Grand Prix, at Ascot Park Speedway. Don Tyler scored three Badger Midget feature victories during the 1990-91 seasons for Lyle, including a third place point finish in 1991. Lyle's son Roger started racing in 1993, capturing the Badger Midget Rookie of the Year honors. Roger scored a several feature victories for the team in front of the hometown crowd winning at Rockford Speedway.

Robert "Bob," Wilson: Age 78, passed away on April 20th. Wilson served as President of the Badger Midget Auto Racing Association for four years 1973-1976. He was also a race official with the series, and involved with the leadership of NAMAR Midget Series.