Pepsi Midget Nat'ls & Gerhardt Classic highlight weekend

Midget auto racing's fourth oldest continuous running event highlights the Sunday Night July 9 racing program at Angell Park Speedway. "The 36th annual Pepsi Midget Nationals" will be co-sanctioned by the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League, and the Mid-State Equipment /Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie Badger Midget Racing Series. The event, which pays $3000 to win, $500 to start for the 30-lap event, with $200 to non-qualifiers.

Current series points leaders Zach Daum (POWRi), and Scott Hatton (Badger) are among previous event winners excepted to compete in the event. Five-time Badger Midget and Pepsi Midget Nationals Champion Kevin Olson has also entered in the event.

The BCRA midgets head to Madera Speedway for Saturday's 100-lap Gerhardt Classic which will feature the racers taking the green flag in a three-abreast start.

NEMA visits Star Speedway on Saturday for the Butch Walsh Memorial honoring their past champion driver, mechanic/designer, and President. Avery Stoehr leads Jim Chambers by 51-points heading into the event.

Adam Lopez "Illinois Midget Nationals" winner Tyler Courtney in victory lane with car owner Tim Clauson (far left) and promoters Rusty Kunz and Wanda Kunz.(Rich Forman photo)

Ten events run during busy Independence Weekend
Christopher Bell raised his yearly feature victory total to six winning the USAC National Midget events at Macon Speedway and Lincoln Speedway. Bell led the final six laps at Macon finishing ahead of: Spencer Bayston, Tyler Courtney, Justin Grant, and Shane Golobic. Trailing Bell at Lincoln were: Bayston, Courtney, Golobic, and Jerry Coons, Jr.
Monday the series visited the the new Illinois State Fairgrounds Multi-Purpose Arena for the Adam Lopez "Illinois Midget Nationals". The outdoor dirt oval had previously hosted events such as motorcycle racing and the National High School Rodeo Finals. Courtney passed teammate Goloic on the sixth lap leading the remainder of the 40-lap event. Golobic, Bell, Dave Darland, and USAC National points leader Bayston completed the top five.
The RMMRA double header at Phillips County Raceway and I-76 Speedway saw veterans Keith Rauch and Bob Harr visit victory lane. Rauch leads the points heading into the next series event July 21 at E l Paso County Raceway.

Alex Schutte won the BCRA event at Placerville Speedway. David Prickett, and Western Midget Driver of the Year points leader Cory Elliott joined Schutte on the podium.

Alex Bright won Saturday's ARDC/USAC Eastern feature at Lanco's Clyde Martin Memorial Speedway. Points leader Ryan Greth finished second ahead of Kenny Miller, Eric Heydenreich and Shawn Jackson. Rain forced cancellation of Friday night's race at Linda's Speedway.

Grady Chandler won the POWRi West feature at RPM Speedway increasing his series points lead. Saturday's event at Super Bowl Speedway was rained out.

Chad Frewaldt won his second feature of the season at Valley Speedway capturing POWRi Lucas Oil Allstar Midget League event finishing ahead of: Chad Winfrey, Jason Walls, Merrill Lamb, and Rick Murcko. The following evening points leader Dustin Gilbert won the series event at Central Missouri Speedway.

2017 Point Fund & Website Sponsors